Make Safari Open Links in New Tab [Terminal Tip]

28 02 2009

One of the major gripes I have with Safari is that when you click a link, it opens the page in a new window. I find this totally throws me off and I end up with a bunch of windows and a cluttered mess. Luckily, there’s a quick workaround.

First, quit Safari by going to Safari>Quit Safari (or ⌘Q). Next, open up the Terminal, which can be found in Applications>Utilities>Terminal.app. Then all you have to do is copy the following text and hit enter.

defaults write com.apple.Safari TargetedClicksCreateTabs -bool true

Once you hit enter, you can quit the Terminal and relaunch Safari. Now you will notice that all licked links open in tabs instead of new windows!

Actions

Information

5 responses

30 07 2009
Dave

Well, this is sweet, but it only works for OS X 10.4. I have 10.4 and it works perfectly on my machine, but my brother and mom have 10.5 and it does not work on their machines. We all have the same versions of Safari.

I have no idea how it’d react at OS’s before 10.4, too.

But, when it works… it’s friggin sweet. Surprised this isn’t built in.

Thanks for the posting.

4 10 2009
CeeDubH

This worked perfect on my 10.6.1 MacBook, and thank you for that.

Sometimes Apple will come out with features that just make me scratch my head and ask, “Why?”. I switched over to Safari after I upgraded to 10.6, because Firefox ran so slowly, and opening links in a new window was my biggest gripe about Safari. The whole reason tabbed browsing was created was to keep your screen free of clutter and multiple windows, and someone at Apple didn’t get that.

Thank you again for the great Terminal command.

15 10 2009
Max

Any idea how to do this on Safari for Vista?

25 04 2010
Mac UI 几个我觉得不好用的地方 « 我的新家

[…] 第六,safari. 在mac里safari比起firefox的一个好处(貌似)是节省内存。所以虽然在window用惯了firefox,在mac下我有时也会用 safari.关于safari讨论太大了,可以专门再写一篇文章。所以这里就说一点,为什么safari对tab浏览方式的支持不是缺省的。点击链接不 如没有按住command键,新的链接还是在新窗口打开。还好这个问题有解,只要在terminal窗口里敲”defaults write com.apple.Safari TargetedClicksCreateTabs -bool true”再重启safari就好了。在查找这个办法的过程中,看到由同道中人一个感叹: Sometimes Apple will come out with features that just make me scratch my head and ask, “Why?” […]

19 06 2013
pcos diet plan

Hello, Neat post. There is a problem with your website in internet explorer, might test this?
IE nonetheless is the marketplace chief and a big
section of people will leave out your fantastic
writing because of this problem.

Leave a Reply

